Why the dentist still sucks

6 Dec

So I had a dental appointment today.  It was just as horrible as it normally is.  Remember when we always hated to go to the dentist’s office as kids?  Well at 24 years of age, I still can’t stand the place.  I would really rather do almost anything else over going to get my teeth cleaned.  I know it’s important to have a healthy set of chompers, but there are plenty of foods you can gum, right?

Highlights just isn’t the same


Oh, to be young again.  This publication used to keep my ass quiet for hours while my mother and I waited for the dentist (who apparently doesn’t understand the concept of appointments).  It was filled with different kinds of puzzles and comics that covered the hard-hitting issues in children society.  You know, like the differences between yellow and blue.  Stories that mattered.  I find myself bored with these mundane tasks now that I’m older, though.  Can’t there be a Highlights for Adults?  I’ll never read the Wall Street Journal, but if you put my stocks into a word jumble, I might pay attention.

It still smells like that

That smell that you can never put your finger on is still prevalent, even in the finest dentist’s offices.  You’re never sure where it’s coming from, but you’re fairly certain it is from the room where they knock you unconscious and harvest your organs.  Let’s get real folks, the dentist is evil.  That smell is from the chloroform he is about to shove in your face before he prices out your left lung.  Sometimes I want to leave right when I walk in because of the smell, but I forget about that when the chemicals reach my brain.

They let dudes clean your teeth now

The only saving grace during my dental appointments was getting to stare longingly into the hygienist’s eyes while she hurt you with pointy metal things.  She always smelled nice, which took my mind off the secretaries taking bids on my appendix.  But this time I was greeted at the door by a middle-aged Hispanic man.  Think the Dos Equis guy, but instead of hot women and cool stories he has a bitter ex-wife and eczema.  After forty minutes of this dude shoving sharp objects into my mouth, the bottle of Aqua Velva homeboy used that morning was wearing off.  You know that man smell that almost every older guy that isn’t Elton John has?  Well it was attacking my nose and I think I shed a tear or two.  I longed for literally any woman to come save me.

There never isn’t something wrong

When I go to the doctor for a check-up, sometimes he says, “Everything’s great!”  After that, I leave with a sucker and a smile.  When I take my car in for an oil change, the mechanic sometimes says, “You were low on wiper fluid, but other than that you’re all good!”  Literally every visit to the dentist ends with me debating whether I should put a hit out on him, as well as scheduling my next trip Guantanamolar Bay.  On top of that, has Jerk DDS ever heard of constructive criticism?  It’s never, “Wow, I can tell you’ve been brushing!  Looks like you still have some plaque on these incisors, so keep that up!”  The hygienist always says they can tell you haven’t been flossing even though you told them you have been.  Then they give you a look like they’re trying to guilt you into caring about flossing.  Who the hell actually flosses?!  That brings me to my next point.

Flavor dental floss however you want, I’m not using the shit

103 Responses to “Why the dentist still sucks”

  1. The Simple Life of a Country Man's Wife December 7, 2010 at 11:10 AM #

    Bacon floss!! Oh, that’s funny stuff. I bet my husband would floss more with that … nah, probably not 🙂

  2. Mikalee Byerman December 7, 2010 at 11:13 AM #

    Oh oh oh! I heart Highlights! And that is SUCH a huge dentist memory.

    So why do my children love to go to the dentist? What could inspire that emotion? I’m perplexed…

  3. runtobefit December 7, 2010 at 11:16 AM #

    I don’t think anyone ever likes the dentist. I used to love Highlights!! I liked trying to find all the hidden objects in the picture. That would easily keep me quiet.

    http://www.runtobefit.wordpress.com

  4. achilliad December 7, 2010 at 11:27 AM #

    Dentists are one of life’s necessary “evils”, and really your teeth help shape your face and maintain the integrity of many other components of our body that I am not savvy enough to enumerate here. My latest Dentist (it is difficult to keep just one, which is one of my pet peeves)is actually a cool dude as was the one before him who suddenly flew the coup due to marital drama from his “ex”. At least he recommended a good one to me. He used to gossip and tell sarcastic jokes while he had his hands and utensils in my mouth to the point that I was really “gagging” with laughter, LOL So a personality helps a dentist’s chair-side manner. In total though, if they are going to do serious work that almost always involves blood, I prefer they just shoot me up BIG time so that my face feels heavy for the next twenty-four hours, and meanwhile allow me to swish liberally while the doctoring is in-progress. Kudos on getting Freshly Pressed!

    http://achilliad.wordpress.com

  5. obscurelens December 7, 2010 at 11:27 AM #

    The dentist is always a horrible experience. I have the nicest dentist and dental assistants, but the smell of fluoride, and poking and digging around in my mouth is just not pleasant.

    I still ask for compensation for the pain and suffering caused by my dentist in the form of scratch-and-sniff stickers.

  6. Tess December 7, 2010 at 11:28 AM #

    Wow this is EXACTLY how I feel about visiting the dentist. It’s nice to know that someone understands.

  7. Alex December 7, 2010 at 11:49 AM #

    I also consider a dental appointment as nice. But I have to go there to get that silly stemp for the health insurance bonus.
    Sometimes it isn’t so hard if the dentist is Joking a bit. But naturally I always hope that everything with my teeth is OK.

    Greetings, Alex.

  8. capnstephel December 7, 2010 at 11:55 AM #

    Haha, I don’t like going either, but I decided to get it over with a few weeks ago. They gave me cotton candy flavored polish, which was a bit weird. Not really bad, just weird.

    I admit to being a good flosser nowadays because I was threatened with gingivitis (dentist said I was on my way there) back in high school. It worked. I don’t think I’d try bacon flavored floss, especially after brushing with mint toothpaste :p

    http://tehcatspajamas.wordpress.com/

  9. Maiden Voyage December 7, 2010 at 11:56 AM #

    Love this, hate the dentist. I’ve been catching up on some sorely needed dental work this year, too, and it never gets better.

    I count the cracks in the ceiling to keep my mind off of the metal on tooth action…

  10. enjoibeing December 7, 2010 at 11:59 AM #

    hah highlights! wow thats old school. ah yes the dentist, havent been there in a while maybe because my dentist was an old fart.

    http://enjoibeing.wordpress.com/

  11. ilanlp14 December 7, 2010 at 12:31 PM #

    haha very funny post!

    http://easyfatlose.info/

  12. Lakia Gordon December 7, 2010 at 12:32 PM #

    Hahahaha, you’re right! Highlights aren’t the same. I used to love that book. 🙂

  13. spidergirlxD December 7, 2010 at 12:37 PM #

    I floss… I’m a good little girl… *tries to make an innocent face* *epic fail* xD

  14. sayitwithmusic December 7, 2010 at 12:40 PM #

    LOL!! This had me laughing out loud. Funny thing about the dentists- the most excruciating part I nowadays find is the price. I have no idea how teeth can be so expensive. I do find the new DVD glasses useful though… anything to take your mind off sitting in a dentists chair!

  15. dearexgirlfriend December 7, 2010 at 12:42 PM #

    last week i had an appointment at 930, they called the afternoon before to ask me if i could come in for 9. I did. I was seen at 950, sweet!
    http://dearexgirlfriend.com/

  16. lilzbear December 7, 2010 at 12:47 PM #

    Just in time for my next dentist appointment…I feel your pain! Also, why do they insist on finding out when your last dentist appointment was? They should already know just by looking…

  17. valentinedee December 7, 2010 at 12:52 PM #

    I’m with you on that smell thingy. What is that? It’s a combo of that filling mixture, the chemicals they use, and the stench that the drill leaves behind. Gotta tell you, it’s awful, which leads me to say, thank heavens, my teeth are good.

    Gotta give you props for this one. Great blog.

    Valentine deFrancis

  18. pdw December 7, 2010 at 12:57 PM #

    Great post!! Hope you don’t mind me bringing up the dentist with the bad teeth. C’mon man, really!

  19. Garrett McKenna December 7, 2010 at 1:04 PM #

    Man, Highlights Magazine really takes me back! Remember Goofus and Gallant? I always hoped that Gallant would get his @$$ kicked by Goofus! Gallant was a rotten goody-two-shoes.

  20. notesfromrumbleycottage December 7, 2010 at 1:23 PM #

    I hate flossing, too. But my kids do it. Maybe I should have them teach me. Congrats on being freshly pressed.

  21. Elizabeth Foxx December 7, 2010 at 1:24 PM #

    Bacon flavored floss?? Where will the madness end!? Actually, my mother had to go to the dentist today;she absolutely loathes the place. I have had a lot of ortho work done, and frankly, the thought of them fixing my mouth with permanent metal fixtures is far less terrifying than 15 minutes with a hygienist and her instruments of torture.

  22. acleansurface December 7, 2010 at 1:45 PM #

    Who flosses? I do. =)

  23. ryoko861 December 7, 2010 at 1:47 PM #

    This was funny! I was brought up on Highlights for Children as well. As were my kids. And I still go to the dentist, but I don’t look longingly into the hygienists eyes. And my dentist laughs like a goof ball.

    Believe me, take care of your teeth NOW. What you do to your body now will haunt you in your late forties. Believe me.

  24. Evie Garone December 7, 2010 at 2:07 PM #

    I hate the dentist, too. I have to go for a cleaning tomorrow, so I can’t believe I read this today. I have been contemplating calling and making up an excuse all morning…I guess I’ll tough it out. Good post. I’m luckier than you, I have a nice young girl who does my cleaning, and if I tell her i haven’t been feeling well, that’s why I haven’t been flossing, she doesn’t get made, or make a face, ha, ha , ha!

    evelyngarone.com

  25. CrystalSpins December 7, 2010 at 2:09 PM #

    Oi…I’m with you on the whole “There never isn’t something wrong.” It makes me insane. Or how about when they stab at you for 10 minutes and then they say, “There seems to be a lot of bleeding here. You haven’t been flossing enough.

    Really? I’m sure the blood has nothing to do with that incredibly sharp object that you just stabbed into my gums. No, I just need to floss more.

    That strikes me as similar to me going to the dermatologist, him stabbing me several times and then saying, “man there’s a lot of bleeding here. Your skin must be really dry. You need to moisturize.”

    Oh, and then resume stabbing me, of course.

    Dentists – bah!

    Crystal
    http://www.crystalspins.com

  26. dezolutions2010 December 7, 2010 at 2:20 PM #

    LMAO!!! Dude, seriously. Funniest thing I’ve read all week. I too have an insane distain for the dentist. I’ve even made it a New Years Resolution to finally fix that broke tooth from 2yrs ago. Which I just did 4 days ago. If you care to join hands with a fellow loather, here you are:

    http://dezolutions.com/category/25-go-to-the-dentist/

    I even have a big ole bloody molar tattoo on my leg to pay homage to my fear 🙂 So you never told us what you needed to get fixed, anything wrong?

  27. sharpsblogorama December 7, 2010 at 2:26 PM #

    And so true.. didn’t/don’t we all hate that… :’)

  28. Rock Kitaro December 7, 2010 at 2:33 PM #

    They let dudes clean your teeth now?! No way! lol.

  29. wlr December 7, 2010 at 2:53 PM #

    My dad is a dentist, so I GREW UP in the dental office… This is so funny because it’s so specific and so true. Thank you for making me laugh on this Tuesday afternoon.

  30. mmontinieri December 7, 2010 at 2:59 PM #

    Hilarious, and so true! Worst part of the dentist though…sensitive teeth after 😦

    Congrats on being Freshly Pressed!

  31. thefrenchchick December 7, 2010 at 3:03 PM #

    You need to change dentists! Or at least request a female hygenist.

    The dentist back home used to put little dishes of vanilla up on those room dividers they use in dentists’ offices so we didn’t have to smell the “chloroform” smell. Tricky folks they were.

    And the one I go to now always wants to use one of those sonic cleaners on my teeth. The kind where the vibrations would have them peeling me off the ceiling tiles.

    Congratulations on making Freshly Pressed!

  32. Gina Henderson December 7, 2010 at 3:13 PM #

    I can actually help you get rid of the anxiety and negative feelings about the dentist. It would take 10 minutes over the phone and really help out. I’m a Hypnotherapist and I’d be happy to do it for free. E-mail me if you’re interested: gina@maedawn.com.

  33. Deli December 7, 2010 at 3:16 PM #

    LOL ahahahhaa :)) so you really hate dentists..

  34. wadingacross December 7, 2010 at 3:28 PM #

    It all depends upon who your dentist and practice is.

    Our current dental practice has good dentists and bad dentists. I like my dentist while my wife’s not pleased with hers. I’ve seen him too, and I concur.

    The prior practice we used was almost a joke. The guy literally ignored and brushed off a bad tooth my wife knew she had. It eventually got pulled by the bad dentist at the new practice.

    I had my first root canal done several years ago at a different practice and was prepared for a nightmare, only to find it not bad at all. Even the crowning, which I finally got done recently, while uncomfortable, wasn’t so bad.

    I suffered through some bad dental experiences as a child to the point I went thru a 10+ year hiatus before seeing a dentist. But things have changed, and I don’t have near the fear and anguish I did as a child.

    And I had quite a bit of work done on my mouth and jaw as a child and teen.

  35. Sister Earth Organics December 7, 2010 at 3:43 PM #

    This is great! I have been asking my dentist for the past 40 years, “what’s new in dentistry?” For the past 40 years I got “nothing” We can put a man on the moon,,,you would think they could at least come up with a pain free way to fill cavities.

  36. emjayandthem December 7, 2010 at 3:50 PM #

    Laugh out loud funny! Favorite? “Think the Dos Equis guy, but instead of hot women and cool stories he has a bitter ex-wife and eczema.” HA HA HA. Great job and congrats on being Fresh Pressed 🙂

  37. makingup3000 December 7, 2010 at 3:50 PM #

    OMG that was too funny!!! But you know you floss really good the night before and use the whitening strips and all that. And then you wait for the “bad news” Gotta replace that crown ~ that insurance only covers 1/3 so that’s a cool 600-700 dollars. No wonder these dentists all drive Porsches.
    Very funny blog. I love it!!

  38. Jennifer C. December 7, 2010 at 3:58 PM #

    Amen times infinity. Dentist. *shudder*

  39. thejamminjabber December 7, 2010 at 4:10 PM #

    The dentist is the man! He keeps your teef safe.

  40. srqpix December 7, 2010 at 4:39 PM #

    I wish I could go to the dentist. I just can’t afford it. The VA (God bless them) cured my cancer but won’t do anything about my teeth. Go figure.

  41. danieljamesaraujo December 7, 2010 at 5:06 PM #

    I definitely share your sentiments.
    Great post!

  42. tiallarising December 7, 2010 at 5:13 PM #

    Wow, nice post! Ugh I hate going to the dentist too! haha Congrats on Freshly Pressed! 🙂

    -Tia

    http://www.tiallarising.wordpress.com

  43. Kittens December 7, 2010 at 6:21 PM #

    Bacon Floss? What!!

  44. My Camera, My Friend December 7, 2010 at 6:37 PM #

    I’m still trying to communicate that the sharp, pointy metal objects hurt.

  45. damianichabod December 7, 2010 at 7:11 PM #

    I couldn’t agree with you more. I dread Dentist Appointments more than anything really. I had a really bad dental cleaning, with some evil Dental Hygenist idiot chick who must have been a surgean before, because It hurt more than Getting an Enema! One time I actually bit her (by accident) because she was torturing my gums, and complained. When I asked her to put on some novacaine like stuff on the gums, she completly denied me, saying (I’m almost done). Forty minutes later it was done. My gums were in EXCRUCIATING pain for that night and hurt the next 2 days. So from there on I dreaded the 2 weeks before a schedualed cleaning. From then on the Dentist did the cleanings, which were much easier, till He Retired. My mom went to that dentist (we all go and she told me that the absolute worst hygenist was there, when the ownership changed hands. She was blasting crappy loud music and was an ass. Thank god they fired her. Heh.

  46. Booksphotographsandartwork December 7, 2010 at 7:14 PM #

    This was quite funny to read as I feel the same way about the dentist! Even more so really. And I am fifty!!! Trust me it only gets worse so floss all that you can and get your teeth cleaned as often as they say. Most of my problems came from when I was a child and apparently there wasn’t flouride in the water way back then.

    I just had a root canal. Oh and dang thats not all there is too the pain, you have to go back to the regular dentist to have a crown put on! That was about as bad as the root canal! And she snuck in an x-ray all of a sudden out of nowhere knowing that there is not room in mouth to get that ginormous popscicle stick in the back of my mouth. But did she manage it yes. She grabbed from around the back of my head, put me in a headlock, held open my mouth and shoved it in. Saying it will just be a second, don’t move will not keep me from gagging to death and throwing up all over all three of us.

    But really I should not complain I have the best dentist and endodonist in the world. Absolutely love them if it’s really possible to love someone who tortures people for money. Happy flossing.

  47. Emily Gooch December 7, 2010 at 7:14 PM #

    Trust me… going to the dentist might suck, but when you are old; sitting in a retirement home and have to drink your hamburger through a straw because of really bad teeth. Trust me… that suck even more. 😉

    I know, because I was the cook.

    • Chase December 7, 2010 at 10:43 PM #

      Did you make the hamburger smoothies, or make the hamburgers only to have them blended into smoothies? Thanks for reading!

  48. Teri December 7, 2010 at 7:15 PM #

    Waxed Bacon floss…

    I wondered exactly when we started accepting it as a condiment on sandwiches, I had no idea it had reached “breath freshening” status.

    Congrats on being freshed…err, I mean pressed! 🙂

    Cheers.

  49. Anton van Rikxoort December 7, 2010 at 7:34 PM #

    My name is Anton van Rikxoort and I wonder why I do this stuff sometimes, but mostly I just do what I want to whenever I want to do it!!!

  50. Tori December 7, 2010 at 7:49 PM #

    Ditto…on EVERYTHING. Just about every time I go to the dentist I make a very detailed list of pros and cons to make sure it having a rotten mouth isn’t aboslutely worth it!
    Congrats on being Freshly Pressed!

  51. StopBeingALoser December 7, 2010 at 8:01 PM #

    Great take on the universal dental experience. Although I have been an avid brusher AND flosser since the beginning of time I have somehow managed to draw the short straw on dental wellness. (see: braces (twice), wisdom teeth extraction, headgear, rubber bands, cavities, crown, retainer…you name it, I’ve been there). Meanwhile, my siblings who grew up with dust forming on their toothbrushes would leave the dentist chair with a pat on the back and a ‘job well done!’ (and a new toothbrush to collect dust).

    I’m not bitter.

    Okay, maybe a little.

    ps Good ole Highlights! The one saving grace of a dental appointment! I second your motion for Highlights for adults.

    -T

    http://stopbeingaloser.org/

    • Chase December 7, 2010 at 10:39 PM #

      Thanks for reading my blog! I clicked on your’s solely because of the name. Solid.

  52. goodatlife December 7, 2010 at 8:06 PM #

    This is so good! I really LOLed, multiple times. Also, very true! Very creative idea.

    • Chase December 7, 2010 at 10:41 PM #

      It’s good to know I can get an attractive girl to do something multiple times. Thanks for reading!

  53. thegeekymarketer December 7, 2010 at 8:34 PM #

    Still terrified of the dentist – get gas to have my teeth cleaned and I wait in my car until they come and get me for my appointment. Hate the smells, the sounds, the pain everything about it.

    This article at least made me laugh about the dentist – something I have never done before. I wish as you walked through the door you could be put into a blissful state of euphoria then carried off to have your work done.

    • Chase December 7, 2010 at 10:02 PM #

      Glad to make you laugh! They do have sedation dentistry now, which is cool. I would recommend bringing a bodyguard to protect you while you’re under.

  54. leeleegirl4 December 7, 2010 at 9:05 PM #

    I totally had a meltdown the last time I went to the dentist. I was crying so hard I was shaking and refused to go back. Sadly, I will have to return soon and probably have a tooth pulled 😦

  55. zfarlinda December 7, 2010 at 9:11 PM #

    hm… good post ^_^

  56. Chase December 7, 2010 at 9:16 PM #

    Umm… wow! I guess this Freshly Pressed business is for real, huh? I appreciate you all reading and laughing along with this entry. To any dentists I may have offended, hello. This was my first post after a short hiatus, so it’s nice to get back on the bike. Again, thanks for reading and I will write more stuff soon!

  57. inidna December 7, 2010 at 9:40 PM #

    Ah, the dentist! Nightmares I tell you. I sit in my seat waiting to be called in like I’m on death row or something. I hate that gleam that dentists get in their eyes when they call you into the room–looks as if they’re gonna savagely rip through your gums. Plus, when they say “This’ll only hurt a bit” it usually hurts 10 times more. My dentist always tells me off about flossing too. “You haven’t been flossing young lady” Oh, please old man. I don’t have the time to waste on flossing! 😛 Great post, I’m pretty sure all of us can relate! Oh and congrats on being Pressed!

  58. threehundredsixtyfivedaysofmylife December 7, 2010 at 10:27 PM #

    Ha! There really is always something wrong when you go to the dentist.

    And it’s true, the dental hygienists are sometimes men now. AND the dentists are sometimes ladies…scandalous really.

  59. tanner24 December 7, 2010 at 10:53 PM #

    I LOVE my dental visits! You walk in and the first smell that hits you is freshly baked bread. I thought it was some sort of air freshener the first few times, but it’s REAL bread. When leaving my last visit, I walked out with a fresh loaf of bread and a jar of local honey (my dentist is a beekeeper as well). The whole inbetween part (between the aroma of bread and the walking out with homemade goodies) is wonderful as well. After years and years of dental anxiety, I actually look forward to my visits. I’ll skip the bacon floss though.

    • Chase December 7, 2010 at 11:07 PM #

      That’s where they get you, tanner24. They send you off with a treat sure to keep you coming back for more checkups. You’ve been played, sister! Thanks for reading!

  60. hereinthisworld December 7, 2010 at 11:18 PM #

    That was a funny post. I enjoyed it. I seriously haven’t been to the dentist in forever (I try to brush like a motherfucker and I know that’s not enough). I’ve already had two teeth pulled and I don’t want a third one pulled. Don’t know much about children’s magazines now since I haven’t been a child in a while (Does anyone remember the Weekly Reader?) but that was a hilarious story. Thanks for sharing!

  61. terii December 7, 2010 at 11:50 PM #

    Grats on FP.

    I had to laugh at this as it struck a chord in me.

    I had an extreme dental-phobia. The combative kind. I’m sure it was a shock to the poor dentists when this tiny 5’2″, 100-nothing pound woman turned into a pit bull. I’d been pitched out of dentist offices and told never to come back.

    Like a good girl, I did my flossing and brushing in between hygenist visits and it kept me cavity free. Then in April ’09, I got the worst tooth pain in my life. It wouldn’t go away. It turned out Sweden has a dental-phobia program and wouldn’t you know? It worked!

    We found my dental fear was connected to syringes AND the dentist insulting me when I freaked out over the shot. With a quiet manner that didn’t snipe or insult me because I was making it difficult to rush me out of their chair for their next appointment and a lovely little injection wand, I got over it.

    Root canals? Pah! Painless child’s play! I didn’t even need OTC pain meds. Extractions? Okay. Those still bite as it turned out my tooth pain was actually from a crack way down in the root. But I did it and the dentists came away with all their fingers and no black-eyes.

    That said, I still hate going. It’s unpleasant and there’s the smell the writer mentioned. For me its the SOUND of the drill or scraping for the cleaning I hate most. The way it vibrates through the bones of my skull. *shudder*

  62. auntbethany December 8, 2010 at 1:06 AM #

    I can’t lie about flossing to save my life…my poor, bloody, screaming gums betray me to the Staff Sargeant holding the drill. I, at 25, still loathe going to the dentist (and you’re talking to someone who has had TONS of cavities over the years AND braces/retainers, to boot). The only time I actually enjoyed going to the dentist was when I needed a root canal. The pain was so bad that the endodontist actually relieved my suffering instead of heightening it. I’m pretty sure I proposed marriage after my surgery…could have been the novocaine talking.

    Great post! Congrats on FP!

  63. dearliv December 8, 2010 at 1:06 AM #

    All I remember about my dentist growing up? His incredibly long nose hairs. Now, I actually prefer the male cleaners . . . as opposed to the perky blonde with cat scrubs who asks me what I think of the new fall colors. With both of her hands in my mouth.

    • Chase December 8, 2010 at 1:20 AM #

      Anyone other than a dentist that insisted on having a conversation while their grubby hands were lodged in your mouth would be put in an institution. Just write the questions down on that napkin thing you pin to my shirt and I’ll reply by mail. Thanks for reading, Liv!

  64. Nykti December 8, 2010 at 1:35 AM #

    I hate the dentist. I didn’t used to, actually. It was annoying, and I didn’t like it when every time it never ended on a bad note (you’re not brushing enough (i seriously got a //look// for saying i brushed maybe twice a day!), or flossing enough, or you might be getting a cavaty). It wasn’t until they did some fillings (after having at least four before at this place, but this was about a year or so after the last one) that I started having major issues. The first stopped me from having ANY cold liquid on that side of my mouth, so I started having to use warm water when brushing. The second filling, on the exact same side, stopped me from being able to chew. I now need to find a new freaking dentist, because they told me these pains would go away within “months”. It’s been well over a year now for both, with no improvement.

    I haven’t been back to that place, or any dentist since, because I have lost my faith in them. Hopefully I can find someone good who will help fix my teeth.

  65. Baldwin Ng December 8, 2010 at 3:01 AM #

    Great Post. It doesn’t help when my dentist looks like a mad scientist. He has long white hair all around but a bald patch on the top. Cleaning alone kills me.
    What’s worst is that I have to remove my wisdom teeth, Left and Right. I am gonna do my braces soon which means during the final month of 2010 and the start of 2011, I will be visiting the MAD SCIENTIST!!

    http://newguyontheblog.wordpress.com

    • Chase December 8, 2010 at 6:27 PM #

      I feel your imminent pain. I had my lower wisdom teeth removed and now my upper ones are showing signs of decay. I am scheduled to get those yanked in January. Thanks for reading, Baldwin! I’m going to go check out your blog right now!

  66. nicholasfincho December 8, 2010 at 6:25 AM #

    lol thats very interesting things. lol

    i never visit to the dentist

  67. hojo73 December 8, 2010 at 6:26 AM #

    Ok, *that* was awesome! Thanks for helping me decide to postpone next week’s appointment 🙂

  68. leadinglight December 8, 2010 at 6:38 AM #

    Dentists were never something to fear for me. My parents never took me to one when I was little as they considered it an unnecessary expense. I never had to wear braces, have a lovely row of straight white teeth. So lack of orthodontic work had no negative impact on my molars.

    Partially I think this can be attributed the fact that I spent a good five minutes brushing my teeth during the morning and after the night. Also my sugar intake was highly moderated by my parents. My mother was the kind that didn’t allow me a second helping of something sweet and firmly said no on my behalf when I was offered delicious sugary nibbles.

    I guess I should thank her for preserving my shape so now I don’t look like a lump of pudding and saving my teeth from cavities. So for me the once yearly check-up visits at the dentist are interesting experiences which I’ve never found painful.

  69. jollof December 8, 2010 at 6:41 AM #

    lol. I enjoyed this post and I can totally relate. You’re lucky…I’ve always had males working on my teeth and not females whom I’d prefer. And bacon floss? really? Whatever would they think of next??!! 😀

  70. Donia December 8, 2010 at 6:49 AM #

    haha, you guys made me laugh, thanks 😀
    http://www.amfinancials.com

  71. bookjunkie December 8, 2010 at 7:09 AM #

    flossing is just impossible….you said it…..I have an overdue visit to the dentist so this one sure does speak to me !! 🙂

  72. venki3179 December 8, 2010 at 7:35 AM #

    Hahhahah that’s really funny… yes i agree, dentists do suck like hell!…….

    i realized our blogs share the same theme!
    check it out : merandomlife.wordpress.com

  73. nessapippenger December 8, 2010 at 10:30 AM #

    hahhha I love this – I however love the dentist – 25 and never had a cavity – he’s the only doctor I have ever been to that HASN’T told me there is something wrong :). Bless his fluoride saturated soul. I wrote something similar last week (but with an oncology office)! Check it out if you’d like!!!

  74. TheBlueMorpho December 8, 2010 at 11:59 AM #

    I hate dentists. And any other medical place like doctors and hospitals. When I was younger I had a mean old dentist who was really nasty to me, and would tell me to shut up when I cried. They also strapped me to the chair when I had work done. I dreaded the place. I fear any dentist no matter who it is, but I prefer women dentists over men. I have a woman dentist now and she’s pretty good. The worst I’ve had done at a dentist is a root canal (horrible!). I also used to love Highlights magazines. Those were the days. And you’re right: who flosses? I dont. Course I dont have pearly whites either. I think people who have good teeth brush more and floss more, whereas people who have bad teeth are like “Well, this is as good as it’s gonna get.”
    Anyways, great post! I know the feeling!

    http://www.lifeslittletreasures.wordpress.com/

  75. gratis dejtingsidor December 8, 2010 at 1:49 PM #

    Very interesting and useful information, thanks!

  76. hereinthisworld December 8, 2010 at 3:40 PM #

    By the way, I love that picture.

  77. duckofindeed December 8, 2010 at 3:42 PM #

    Ah, yes, the dentist. I’ve been luckier lately, but still, no matter how well you brush, it still hurts. And they act like you get a clean feeling after you go, but my teeth just taste and feel filthy. Why do us humans need to go when animals don’t and their teeth are still white?!

  78. Adrianna Whelihan December 9, 2010 at 1:32 AM #

    Most of the times i visit a blog i get disappointed.On the other hand,I could honestly say that you writting is decent and your website solid.

    • Chase December 12, 2010 at 6:34 PM #

      That’s a huge compliment, thank you! I’m glad you enjoyed it!

  79. diarybabe December 10, 2010 at 6:40 AM #

    So, so funny. made me laugh so hard. I can see why some people hate the denstist now hehe.
    Congarts on the F.p.
    Keep it up 🙂
    X

  80. bet365 December 11, 2010 at 4:23 AM #

    hi I was fortunate to find your topic in bing
    your topic is brilliant
    I get a lot in your theme really thank your very much
    btw the theme of you blog is really quality
    where can find it

    • Chase December 12, 2010 at 6:36 PM #

      Thanks for reading! The theme I’m using is one from WordPress called Bueno.

  81. Dr. Asoka Dissanayake (Medical) December 15, 2010 at 9:42 AM #

    Good One.

    I like your comment on harvesting organs.

    Do you know that they harvest pigs to get Aortic Valves.

    In my country Kidneys are going at I Million a piece.

    They are really good at harvesting organs but not good relationships.
    If you find a doctor who cannot smile or crack a joke, pleas do not pay him the fees.
    Keep writing about Medics too. A visit to the nearest public hospital will give you enough ideas for your future writing.
    Just look at their expressions and let your imagination run riot!
    Your writing skills are better than all my medical writings.
    Do not let your childhood imaginations dry up as you grow older.
    Unfortunately older people also have lost their sense of humour

  82. kayoyama December 16, 2010 at 9:54 PM #

    I’ve never been to a dentist.. i don’t why. I’m not afraid off-course. maybe because mu teeth doesn’t ache anymore since i was in high school.

  83. Tami Griffins December 17, 2010 at 1:11 AM #

    Nice blog , thanks for the post!

  84. compositordemente December 19, 2010 at 4:09 PM #

    for those who want to share and understand the word of God http://thebig2012.wordpress.com
    greetings and blessings

  85. dog grooming December 19, 2010 at 5:32 PM #

    I know this would be better suited to an email, but do you mind if I ask what WordPress theme you’re using for this website? With the right changes (colors, banners, etc.) it would be perfect for my blog.

    • Chase December 19, 2010 at 6:39 PM #

      B-b-b-bueno! I like it a lot. It has a few colors to select from.

  86. osseo computer repair April 1, 2011 at 1:30 PM #

    I was chatting with my friend on MSN about this and I’ve got to say that I completely agree with the poster near the beginning. And on a side note, I really like the colors you used for your blog. What theme is this?

    • Chase April 2, 2011 at 2:46 AM #

      This is the Bueno theme. It has a few different color schemes to choose from.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Why the dentist still sucks (via The Back Porch) | Funny intersting impressional Quotes - December 7, 2010

    […] Why the dentist still sucks (via The Back Porch) Posted on December 7, 2010 by inislamicworld So I had a dental appointment today.  It was just as horrible as it normally is.  Remember when we always hated to go to the dentist's office as kids?  Well at 24 years of age, I still can't stand the place.  I would really rather do almost anything else over going to get my teeth cleaned.  I know it's important to have a healthy set of chompers, but there are plenty of foods you can gum, right? Highlights just isn't the same Oh, to be young agai … Read More […]

  2. Insurance Quotes + - December 8, 2010

    How to Find a Holistic Dentist #395…

    I found your entry interesting thus I’ve added a Trackback to it on my weblog :)…

  3. World Spinner - December 8, 2010

    Why the dentist still sucks « The Back Porch…

    Here at World Spinner we are debating the same thing……

  4. Tweets that mention Why the dentist still sucks « The Back Porch -- Topsy.com - December 9, 2010

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Alexandria, Chase Reynolds. Chase Reynolds said: Why the dentist still sucks: http://wp.me/pYjtx-4u […]

  5. 100 Hits Bonanza! « Miracle on 32nd Street - December 9, 2010

    […] And, you know….I’m still so new to the world of blogging, and I’m fully aware that an all-time high count of 111 may be quite small, when you consider some of the blogs that have received a Freshly Pressed status.  Some lucky bloke received 1,473 hits…in one day (and it was well-deserved…read about it here). […]

  6. Mainstayinvest.com - December 17, 2010

    Visits To Your Dentist Are Important For Bright Smiles…

    I found your entry interesting thus I’ve added a Trackback to it on my weblog :)…

Leave a Reply

