Overkill is underrated: my A-Team review

13 Jul

I’ll admit I was hesitant to see this movie at first.  It wasn’t because I was a fan of the original television series (in fact, I have never seen an episode) or because I didn’t like the cast (in fact, I love all of these actors).  I simply didn’t think it would be good.  Well, as so seldom happens, I was wrong.  The plan certainly came together on this one, and I recommend action fans buy a ticket.  Here are my thoughts on the film.

The movie puts the pedal to the metal to begin with.  The opening credits are barely noticed because you’re watching an escape montage where each character, for one reason or another, is running from people in Mexico.  This is foreshadowing in a way, because the rest of the film doesn’t go easy on the action sequences.  Let’s get familiar with Alpha Squad, or more familiarly, the A-Team.

Murdock

This guy is nuts.  He is easily the best character in the film.  The role is taken on and done in perfect form by that dude from District 9, Sharlto Copley.  The team encounters him for the first time in a hospital as he is posing as a doctor.  He proceeds to stitch B.A. Baracus’ arm up, albeit poorly, and is recruited as a pilot.  The next scene pits him in a daring escape from Mexican authorities in an outgunned medical helicopter.  He succeeds in his task and performs a kick ass barrel roll in the process.  I love it.

B.A. Baracus

This is where the casting got sketchy to me.  I’m a fan of Rampage Jackson as a fighter, but his acting teeth haven’t really been cut yet.  His performance in this movie is a pleasant surprise.  This Baracus could definitely beat up Mr. T, which is the standard I judge every movie character by.  The back and forth between B.A. and Murdock is classic Abbott and Costello styling that fits perfectly as a sidebar.  In an early scene, Murdock flattens the famous van from the television series, causing Baracus to exclaim:

You pancaked my van!  I’m gonna kill you fool!

It’s very representative of the character’s dialogue throughout the movie, but that’s good.  It fits him, you know?

Face

I don’t know what this character was like in the TV show, but he is kind of forgettable in this movie.  The love story portion does revolve around him and Jessica Biel’s character.  He does plan the exploding freighter climax scene.  He is also portrayed by Bradley Cooper.  But for the most part, he takes a backseat role to the other members of the team.  At least that’s how I felt.  I didn’t even really think about that until right now.

Hannibal

Liam Neeson has reignited his acting career.  I remember him from Schindler’s List and the Star Wars prequel.  When he took on the role of Mr. Bad Ass Daddy in Taken, though, I was like, “this guy could whoop Qui-Gon Jinn’s ass!”  He seems perfectly at home playing the elder statesman of the A-Team, Hannibal Smith.  This dude is like a Clint Eastwood role that made sure to drink his Benefiber and take his Boniva everyday.  He keeps up with the young studs just fine.

Give me a minute, I’m good.  If I’ve got an hour, I’m great.  You give me six months, I’m unbeatable.

This movie far exceeded my expectations, which were really low for no reason, really.  The action sequences are well choreographed and the comedic instances aren’t forced.  There are small parts having nothing to do with the movie that will make you laugh out loud (I mean that in a good way).  Valid as it may be, the only complaint I have about this movie is that Jessica Biel wears entirely too many articles of clothing.  Oh, and there is an unnecessary John Hamm cameo at the end of the movie.  Other than that, the lines are well written and the story flows with ease.  Let me throw a few quotes at you.

Are they trying to shoot down that other drone?

No, they’re trying to fly that tank.

That’s awesome!  It looks exactly like Call of Duty, doesn’t it?

The CIA’s got rules.  Ours are just cooler than yours.

I hope this has encouraged you to see the movie if you haven’t yet.  If you have seen it, then I hope you enjoyed as much as i did.

Grade: A (did you really not see that one coming?)

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

Leave a Reply

