My thoughts on Shutter Island

7 Jul

I recently rented this Scorsese film from one of those Redbox things (which, by the way, are the greatest things ever).  I was working the night shift, so I brought a portable DVD player and watched the movie.  I had my notepad with me so I could come up with new blog posts, but I ended up just jotting down a bunch of things I noticed in this movie.  Enjoy.

Begins with Leo yacking/spewing/hurling

See, he’s just like a regular person!  He gets seasick, dates supermodels, and makes millions of dollars just like we do!

I’m pretending to follow the movie, but I really have no idea

I have a few ideas in my head, but they’re mostly spinning around in circles.  I don’t know what’s going on at Shutter Island.

“The rule of 4, who is 67?”

My math skills have allowed me to discern that 67 is not divisible by four, so this is obviously just unintelligible scribble from a patient.  There’s no way this has any importance.  Edit: Wow, I was way off, there!

Leo’s bandage stays on through the entire film

That’s not movie magic, people.  Band-Aid makes a quality product, even in the 1950s.

That little girl is creepy

When she opened her eyes and got up, a bug flew past my face and scared the frijoles out of me.  I peed a little.

Literally everyone smoked in the 50s

We should learn from these simpler times and quit being a bunch of sissies.  “Waah, I don’t like smoke, so I’m going to run for city council and pass a law so they can’t smoke near me!”  Just go sit somewhere else, you jackass.

The deputy warden was Drew Carey’s brother

Does anyone remember The Drew Carey Show?  This guy played Drew’s brother and he eventually married and had a child with Mimi.  These tiny tidbits of info are why I win at Trivial Pursuit all the time.

Scariest game of tag… ever

This is where I would have peaced out of Ward C.  Homie don’t play that.  Also, no tag-backs.

Can’t lighthouses ever be fun?

I may be wrong, but I don’t think there’s ever been a cool lighthouse in a movie.  This one has lobotomies conducted inside of it.

Sodium Amytal

This stuff sounds fun.  Wait, did she say something about ripping stuff out of my eyeball with an ice pick?

What?!

So is he crazy, or not?  Thanks a lot, Scorsese.

3 Responses to “My thoughts on Shutter Island”

  1. Chris Cantu July 8, 2010 at 12:14 AM #

    I don’t believe he stays crazy at the end. pay special attention to his last comment. I believe he snaps out of it and realizes how shitty his life has became. He rather stay locked up and brainwashed rather than be sane and have to live the rest of his life with the memory of what happend. – just my opinion

    • Chase July 8, 2010 at 6:53 AM #

      Yeah, I thought that, but he also refers to that Dr. Sheehan dude as his “partner” Chuck again. That would be crazy Leo. I think the purpose is for no one to know if he’s crazy or not. He could just be jerking that dude around by calling him Chuck again, or maybe he’s as screwed up as I would be if my wife drowned our kids and then dressed them up for a freakin’ tea party. I thought the movie was pretty good. Have you seen The Collector? That flick is craaaaaaazy nuts!

  2. Chris July 18, 2010 at 9:55 PM #

    Did anybody notice the “ice pick” the doc was carrying when he was walking towards leo at the end? Definently raises the possibility that the crazy expeirements were goin on. But like you said THNX a f’n lot scorsese. Guna go jab an ice pick into my brian now.

Leave a Reply

